How is Being a Christian Like Being a Pumpkin?

“God picks you from the patch, brings you in, and washes all the dirt off of you. Cuts off the top and scoops out all the yucky stuff. He removes the seeds of doubt, hate, greed, etc…and then He carves you a new smiling face and puts His light inside of you to shine for all the world to see.”


I thought I would share this very cute quote that I found recently with all of you! The saying above is very true although many Christians continue to hold onto the seeds planted inside of them and don’t allow God to completely restore and clean them out. This cleaning process isn’t always fun and easy. In fact, it is very similar to the cleaning process of the pumpkin. I have yet to be completely “cleaned out”.  I have found it very hard to release things, but with God’s help my “cleaning” process is moving along quite efficiently!

I am so thankful to God for coming along side of me to help me out when I need guidance and a trustworthy companion! He has such a caring heart towards me and you! Remember that He is always available to help you with some cleaning! He just loves it when His children come to Him and allow Him to take out the trash!

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest….and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and My burden is light.”-Jesus

Matthew 11:28-30

12 thoughts on “How is Being a Christian Like Being a Pumpkin?

    1. Thanks for commenting! Your question was a welcome challenge for me to answer in a way that combined with the pumpkin analogy. In other words, I knew what my answer was but I didn’t know how to put it into the pumpkin analogy.
      I asked God for some clarification and He revealed to me a way to answer your question that went with the pumpkin analogy. Here’s my answer:

      I believe that God would like to pick all of us out of the patch, clean us up, and make us radiant with His love. BUT, not all pumpkins are ripe at the same time. In fact, some pumpkins aren’t able to be harvested because they had some sort of disease, they just wouldn’t grow, or they went rotten. God has given us (Humans) free will to choose- to choose to allow Him into our lives or choose to stay away from Him. Therefore, not everyone becomes a happy glowing pumpkin.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Allison,
    So glad to read you are a Jesus lover. (I already had my suspicions=) I, too, follow Him. I’m enjoying reading your posts. In response to the pumpkin analogy, there is a lot there. I am learning to refocus my mind to who HE says I am in Him…a “new creation”, a “child of light”, I no longer walk in darkness, i am HIS. Believing who I am in Him transforms me! (renewing my mind by the washing of the word) Maybe that’s all part of allowing Him to “get the seeds and muck out”! Thanks for sharing your blog with me!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, yep, that’s me!
      There is so much truth in the pumpkin analogy and in what you said too. I really like your thinking!!
      Thank you for commenting! Your comment reminded me of why I originally shared the pumpkin post! I enjoy reading comments like yours- they are a great encouragement!
      Thanks again!
      Allison
      P.S. Don’t be shy- please keep reading and commenting 😉

      Like

      1. OK, reading the Word this am, ran into a few of the scriptures (KJV) about what we were talking about: Gal 5:16, Eph 4:23, and Col 3:10. It’s funny, when the Lord brings a topic up, you start seeing it everywhere (even when you aren’t looking for it =)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. WOW, those verses are exactly what we were talking about! The Lord sure does a great job in confirming what He has shown us; it is quite amazing!
        Thanks for sharing what you discovered!
        -A

        Like

      3. It’s fun. =) I have been amazed and astounded by noticing how God is speaking the same message to His kids who are seeking Him. It blows my mind and humbles me and makes me thankful to be a little part of the intricacies of what He is doing!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

